MEDITERRANEAN MONK SEALS

S.O.S. for the last Mediterranean monk seals

​SCS is committed to the conservation of the populations in Mauritania

​Become an active player and help these beautiful creatures survive!

LOGO CBD 1.gif
THE MEDITERRANEAN MONK SEAL

The Mediterranean monk seal (Monachus monachus), once abundant throughout the Mediterranean basin, in the Black Sea and along the northwest coast of Africa, has now become rare and endangered according to the 2015 classification of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

This marine mammal is part of the pinniped group, which also includes sea lions, elephant seals and walruses.​

 

The monk seal belongs to the Phocidae family (clade Pinnipeds) and includes 18 existing species. The gender “Monachus” includes 3 species, one of which is extinct (Caribbean monk seal, Monachus tropicalis) and two endangered (Mediterranean monk seal, Monachus monachus and Hawaiian monk seal, Monachus schauinslandi).

Photo CBD 1.jpg

The world population of Monachus monachus is estimated at about 700-800 individuals (350-450 adults), subdivided into 3-4 sub-populations.

It is estimated that 300 to 400 individuals live in Greece (see Ionian Dolphin Project), about 300 in Cabo Blanco (Mauritania), about 100 in Turkey, and 40 in the Madeira archipelago. An unknown number of seals may be present on the Mediterranean coasts of Morocco. 

 

The decline in the Monachus monachus population is mainly due to deliberate killing by fishermen; seals come to eat fish in their nets and become competitors to be eliminated. They can also be entangled in the links of static nets venturing into them to feed themselves or to play or in fishing gears. Like other species, the monk seal is also a victim of overfishing, which depletes food resources, of pollution, but also of increasing human activity at its resting and breeding sites, forcing it to flee into caves with underwater entrances.

Photo CBD 3.jpg
Mauritania population « Seals coast »

The Mediterranean monk seal (Monachus monachus), generally associated to the Mediterranean sea, also resides in the east part of the Atlantic ocean, namely in the "Seal Coast Reserve", which protects 6 km of coastline in the Cabo Blanco peninsula (Mauritania). It is currently estimated that this reserve hosts almost half of the global Monk seal population.

 

​Actually, this population of the Cabo Blanco colony is fully growing. Since the creation of the "Seal Coast Reserve" in 2001, the number of individuals has increased from around 100 individuals estimated in 1998 to more than 360 seals! At the same time, the number of babies born each year has almost tripled from 20 to more than 80 births.

RESULTS OF 2020 ACTIVITIES :

Daily monitoring of the Reserve:

In 2020: 4232 hours of monitoring

Illegal fishing:

18 Seiners detected by conservation officers and sanctioned by the Mauritanian authorities; their licenses were withdrawn and they were fined.

Births evolution monitoring :

77 births recorded

New photographic material :

15,000 Photos being analyzed

Capture d’écran 2021-06-01 à 08.02.03.pn
logo-annajah.png
LOGO CBD 1.gif
LOGO CBD2.jpg

CBD-Habitat Foundation

Our partner onsite

 

This partnership is part of the Mediterranean monk seal conservation program.​

 

The CBD-Habitat non-profit foundation, dedicated to biodiversity conservation through various projects around the world, manages the "Monk Seal Conservation Program" in Mauritania. This is done within the framework of the Action Plan for the Conservation of the Mediterranean Monk Seal in the Eastern Atlantic (https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org).​

 

Endorsed by Spain, Portugal, Morocco and Mauritania, this Action Plan establishes a framework for international cooperation for coordinated actions to recover Atlantic populations of monk seals and to ensure the continuity of this species, which is one of the most threatened marine mammals in the world.​

 

The mission of the program is to protect and contribute to the recovery of the Mediterranean monk seal population in the Cabo Blanco peninsula of Mauritania and consequently worldwide.​

 

CBD-Habitat is responsible for implementing this program with the Mauritanian NGO Annajah.​

Participate actively in the conservation of the
Mediterranean monk seal population
Your contribution will primarily serve
to protect, monitor and taking care of the seals.

REFERENCES:

The pictures were granted by  Dr. Pablo Fernandez De Larrinoa (CBD-Habitat Foundation) and Dr. Joan Gonzalvo (Tethys Research Institute)

Karamanlidis, A. & Dendrinos, P. (2015). "Monachus monachus". IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. 2015: e.T13653A45227543. doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2015-4.RLTS.T13653A45227543.en

 

Mediterranean monk seal conservation program :  https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org/?page_id=128&lang=fr

 

Ionian Dolphin Project_Info (2020)

PHOQUE MOINE DE MEDITERRANEE

S.O.S. pour les derniers Phoques moines de Méditerranée ​
La SCS s’engage pour la conservation des populations de la Mauritanie 
Devenez acteurs et aidez à la survie de ces belles créatures!

LOGO CBD 1.gif

LE PHOQUE MOINE DE MÉDITERRANÉE

Le Phoque moine de Méditerranée (Monachus monachus), autrefois abondant dans tout le bassin méditerranéen, en Mer Noire et au long des côtes nord-ouest de l’Afrique, est devenu aujourd’hui rare et en danger selon le classement de l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (IUCN) de 2015.

Ce mammifère marin fait partie du groupe des pinnipèdes, qui comprend également les lions de mer, les éléphants de mer ainsi que les morses.

Le Phoque moine appartient à la famille des Phocidés  (super-famille Pinnipèdes) qui inclut encore 18 espèces existantes.  Le genre « Monachus » comprend 3 espèces, dont une espèce éteinte (Phoque des Caraïbes, Monachus tropicalis) et deux en danger d’extinction (Phoque moine de Méditerranée, Monachus monachus et Phoque moine hawaïen, Monachus schauinslandi).

Photo CBD 1.jpg

La population mondiale de Monachus monachus est estimée à environ 700-800 individus (350-450 adultes) : celle-ci est sous-divisée en 3-4 sous-populations.

Il est considéré que 300 à 400 individus vivent en Grèce (voir Ionian Dolphin Project ), environ 300 au Cap Blanc, une centaine en Turquie, et 40 à l’archipel de Madère. Un nombre inconnu de phoques pourrait être présent aux côtes méditerranéennes de Maroc.

Le déclin de la population de Monachus monachus est principalement dû aux mises à mort délibérées par les pêcheurs ; les phoques viennent manger les poissons dans leurs filets et deviennent des concurrents à éliminer. Ils peuvent aussi s’étrangler dans les maillons des filets de bateaux de pêche ou statiques, en s’y aventurant pour se nourrir, ou pour jouer. Comme les autres espèces, le Phoque moine est également victime de la surpêche qui appauvrit les ressources alimentaires, de la pollution, mais également de l’activité humaine qui se déploie sur ses sites de repos et de reproduction, l’obligeant à fuir dans des grottes aux entrées sous-marines.

Photo CBD 3.jpg
Population de la Mauritanie « Côte des Phoques »

Le Phoque moine de Méditerranée (Monachus monachus), généralement associé à la mer Méditerranée, vit également dans la zone orientale de l’océan Atlantique et notamment dans la réserve « Côte des phoques », qui couvre environ 6 km sur la péninsule du Cap Blanc (Mauritanie). Il est aujourd’hui estimé que cette réserve abrite environ la moitié de la population mondiale.

La population de la colonie du Cap Blanc de Mauritanie est actuellement en pleine croissance: Depuis la création de la réserve « Côte des phoques », en 2001, le nombre d’individus a augmenté en passant d’une centaine d’individus estimés en 1998, à plus de 360 phoques! En parallèle, le nombre des bébés nés chaque année a presque triplé en passant d’une 20aine à plus de 80 naissances.

RESULTATS ACTIVITES 2020 : 

Surveillance quotidienne de la Réserve : 

En 2020 : 4232 heures de surveillance

Pêche Illégale :

18 Senneurs détectés par les agents de conservation et sanctionnés par les autorités mauritaniennes ; leurs permis ont été retirés et ils ont été condamnés à des amendes. 

Surveillance évolution naissances

77 naissances recensées 

Nouveau matériel photographique :

15'000 Photos en cours d'analyse.

Capture d’écran 2021-06-01 à 08.02.03.pn
logo-annajah.png
LOGO CBD 1.gif

FONDATION CBD-Habitat

Notre partenaire sur place

Ce partenariat est établi dans le cadre du programme de conservation du Phoque moine de Méditerranée. 

La Fondation sans but lucratif  CBD-Habitat, dédiée à la conservation de la biodiversité à travers différents projets dans le monde entier, gère le «Programme de conservation du Phoque moine de Méditerranée» en Mauritanie. Ceci est fait dans le cadre du Plan d’action pour la sauvegarde du Phoque moine de Méditerranée en Atlantique oriental (https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org).

Souscrit par l’Espagne, le Portugal, le Maroc et la Mauritanie, ce Plan d’action établit un cadre de coopération internationale pour la réalisation d’actions coordonnées dans le but de récupérer les populations atlantiques de Phoque moine et de garantir la continuité de cette espèce, qui est un des mammifères marins les plus menacés au monde.

La mission du programme est de protéger, et de contribuer à la récupération de la population de Phoque moine de Méditerranée au niveau de la péninsule du Cap Blanc, en Mauritanie, et par conséquent au niveau mondial.

 

CBD-Habitat est responsable de l’exécution de ce programme avec l’ONG mauritanienne Annajah.

Participez à la conservation des Phoques moines de Méditerranée
Les fonds récoltés servent prioritairement  la protection,
à la surveillance et aux soins des phoques. 

REFERENCES:

Les photos sont mises à disposition par Dr. Pablo Fernandez De Larrinoa (Fondation CBD-Habitat) 

Karamanlidis, A. & Dendrinos, P. (2015). "Monachus monachus". IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. 2015: e.T13653A45227543. doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2015-4.RLTS.T13653A45227543.en

 

Programme de conservation du phoque moine de la Méditerranée :  https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org/?page_id=128&lang=fr