HOW YOUR DONATIONS ARE USED

TO HELP GREEN TURTLES 

thanks for them !

 

The green turtle Chelonia mydas is one of the seven critically endangered marine species in the world. Although it is fully protected internationally and listed in CITES (or Washington Convention), poaching is one of the main causes of its rarefaction.

The on-site actions are under the supervision of Dr Mohamed Said Hassani, also a member of the Board of Directors and Scientist of the University of the Comoros and Honorary Consul of Switzerland in the Comoros. 

The project is located in the Comoros Archipelago on the Mozambique Channel (Indian Ocean), more precisely in the north of the island of Grande Comore, near the village of N'droudé and on the turtle islet. Formerly a spawning ground, the green turtles that come to lay eggs in B'droudé have little chance of returning alive at sea; they are often poached before they even have time to bury their eggs in the sand.

However, the situation is not the same everywhere. In some areas, it is now largely protected and its population is tending to increase again (e. g. Hawaii). This is not the case in the Comoros Islands, in the Indian Ocean, where it is a victim of large-scale indigenous poaching, although it is fully protected under Comorian law.

As the green turtle is a migratory species capable of travelling thousands of kilometres per year, drastic large-scale protection measures are urgently needed to prevent the extinction of this emblematic species in the medium term.

In order to remedy this worrying situation as soon as possible, Swiss Cetacean Society and its partners, the Comorian association Ulanga N'gazidja, are working to preserve green turtles.

PRESERVATION PROJECT
THE GREEN TURTLE, AN ECOSYSTEM VALUE

As the green turtle feeds on aquatic bacterial fungi, it plays a major role in cleaning the water and thus promotes the proliferation of fish in a more "healthy" ecosystem. In this sense, the turtle has a real ecosystem value.

 

On the other hand, consumers of green turtle meat regularly expose themselves to more or less serious food poisoning, which unfortunately does not encourage them to give it up because ordering a turtle and consuming it during certain events has become a custom and a mark of power widely spread among some local notables.

Traditionally, Comorians did not consume turtles because of a food ban linked to the Muslim religion. In the past, the sea turtle was revered and respected. Inter-island migration, economic conditions and the low cost of turtle meat have gradually changed these eating habits. To such an extent that the green turtle, so called because of the seaweed that gives this greenish hue to its flesh, had practically deserted the beaches of N'droudé and the turtles islet, an ancestral tip site.

Until the ecoguards were set up in 2011, turtles that came to lay eggs on the beaches had almost no chance of leaving alive. They were systematically slaughtered before laying, with consumers claiming that the flesh is better in these conditions

 

Every time a turtle is slaughtered, poachers leave behind a scene of desolation: eggs are lost for breeding and are not even consumed, fins, neck, guts and muscles rot on the beach.

In addition to this scourge, fishermen's islets, beach erosion, pollution and plastic waste are all dangers that make it difficult for the species to survive, to the point that it is listed on the IUCN Red List as an endangered species.

PROJECT HISTORY

Since 2010, the Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS has been supporting the work of the national association Ulanga N'gazidja. In 2011, thanks to external funding, and under the supervision of Dr. Said Hassani, a local team of 4 ecoguards from N'droudé was set up. Favor to these turtle surveillance patrols and the prevention of poaching, a timid return of the species has been observed on the three beaches of the village.

The sustained efforts of the village association of N'droudé and Ulanga N'gazidja with the support of the Swiss NGO have helped to encourage the involvement of other important partners such as UNDP. With the support of the latter, construction projects for the Maison du Tourisme and 4 bungalows for ecotourism have been initiated.

In 2014, the N'droudé area was annexed to the project for the protection of marine protected areas carried out jointly by the Union of Comoros, the GEF and UNDP. This decision is very encouraging because it aims to protect the environment of Grande Comore and its marine ecosystems.

Without wages for ecoguards, beach monitoring would no longer be guaranteed. It is therefore urgent to maintain the motivation of these ecoguards by ensuring that they are paid a salary that allows them to devote themselves fully to protecting turtles and have a decent life for their families.

Although Ulanga N'gazidja has already done a lot of information and awareness-raising work with the local population (fishermen, villagers, authorities, children, media) to protect turtles, there is still a long way to go to raise awareness of the importance of preserving this living species, and its role in the marine ecosystem.

IN CONCRETE TERMS, WHAT IS DONE WITH YOUR DONATIONS

Implementation of ecoguard patrols on the beaches of N'droudé to deter any poaching attempts.  As the average salary is about CHF 60, this pushes people in the local community to work for the protection of green turtles, their nests and offspring.  These ecoguards also collect valuable data on turtles.                                            

​For an amount of 70.- CHF :

Equivalent to one month's salary for the weekly patrol of an ecoguard.

For an amount of  350.- CHF :

Equivalent to one month's salary for the weekly patrol of an ecoguard.

For an amount of 700.- CHF :

Equivalent to 1 year's salary for the weekly patrol of an ecoguard.

For an amount of 100.- CHF :

Supervision of the field work of four Masters students in order to establish a "zero point" of the ecosystem of the new marine area to be protected. 

For an amount of 5'000.- CHF : ​​

Sponsorship of a Swiss student in a Master's or Doctorate program. Including his stay on site to establish a "zero point" of the ecosystem of the new marine area to be protected. ​

  • Ensure that as many small turtles as possible return to the ocean after the outbreak.

  • Stabilize the population of green turtles in the Indian Ocean, which is seriously threatened by marine pollution and poaching.

  • Identify and monitor spawning sites.

  • Sensitize local fishermen to the importance of protecting sea turtles.

  • Guarantee a month's salary and a decent life for an ecoguard and his family.

Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS

CP 1430 

1001 Lausanne 

Switzerland

2016 created  by  Tanit Agency

COMMENT VOS DONS SONT UTILISÉS POUR AIDER LES TORTUES VERTES

Merci pour elles !

 

La tortue verte Chelonia mydas est l’une des sept espèces marines gravement menacées dans le monde. Bien qu’elle soit intégralement protégée au niveau international et inscrite à la CITES (ou Convention de Washington), le braconnage constitue l’une des causes principales de sa raréfaction.

 

Les actions sur place sont sous la supervision du Dr Mohamed Said Hassani, également membre du Conseil d’administration et scientifique de l’Université des Comores et Consul honoraire de Suisse aux Comores.

Le projet se déroule dans l’Archipel des Comores sur le Canal de Mozambique (Océan Indien), plus précisément au nord de l’île de la Grande Comore, près du village de N’droudé et sur l’îlot aux tortues. Anciennement haut lieu de ponte, les tortues vertes qui viennent pondre à B’droudé ont peu de chance de repartir vivantes en mer ; elles sont souvent braconnées avant même d’avoir le temps d’enterrer leurs œufs dans le sable.

La situation n’est pourtant pas pareille partout. Dans certaines régions, elle est désormais largement protégée et sa population a tendance à augmenter à nouveau (par exemple à Hawaii). Tel n’est en revanche pas le cas aux îles Comores, dans l’Océan Indien, où elle est victime du braconnage autochtone à large échelle, ceci bien qu’elle soit intégralement protégée selon la législation des Comores.

La tortue verte étant une espèce migratrice capable de parcourir des milliers de km par année, il est urgent de prendre des mesures drastiques de protection à large échelle afin d’éviter la disparition à moyen terme de cette espèce emblématique.

Afin de remédier au plus vite à cette situation préoccupante, Swiss Cetacean Society et ses partenaires, l’association comorienne Ulanga N’gazidja se mobilisent pour la préservation des tortues vertes.

PROJET DE PRÉSERVATION
LA TORTUE VERTE, VALEUR ÉCOSYSTÉMIQUE

La tortue verte se nourrissant de champignons bactériologiques aquatiques, elle joue un rôle prépondérant de nettoyeuse des eaux et favorise ainsi la prolifération du poisson dans un écosystème plus «sain». En ce sens, la tortue présente une réelle valeur écosystémique.

A contrario, les consommateurs de viande de tortues vertes s’exposent quant à eux régulièrement à des intoxications alimentaires plus ou moins graves, ce qui malheureusement ne les incitent pas à y renoncer, car commander une tortue et la consommer lors de certains événements est devenu une coutume et une marque de pouvoir largement répandu chez certains notables locaux.

Traditionnellement, les comoriens ne consommaient pas de tortues en raison d’un interdit alimentaire lié à la religion musulmane. Jadis, la tortue marine était d’ailleurs vénérée et respectée. Les migrations inter-îles, la conjoncture économique et le faible coût de la viande de tortue ont peu à peu modifié ces habitudes alimentaires. A tel point que la tortue verte appelée ainsi du fait de l’algue qui donne cette teinte verdâtre à sa chair, avait pratiquement déserté les plages de N’droudé et l’Ilot aux Tortues, lieu de pointe pourtant ancestral.

Jusqu’à la mise en place des écogardes en 2011, les tortues venant pondre sur les plages n’avaient quasiment aucune chance de repartir vivantes. Elles étaient systématiquement massacrées avant la ponte, les consommateurs prétendant que la chair est meilleure dans ces condition

Chaque fois qu’une tortue est massacrée, les braconniers laissent derrière eux une scène de désolation : les œufs sont perdus pour la reproduction et ne sont même pas consommées, les nageoires, le cou, les tripes et les muscles pourrissent sur la plage.

En plus de ce fléau, les ilets des pêcheurs, l’érosion des plages, la pollution ainsi que les déchets plastiques sont autant de dangers qui rendent difficile la survie de l’espèce, à tel point qu’elle figure sur la Liste Rouge de l’IUCN en tant qu’espèce en danger.

HISTORIQUE DU PROJET

L’association Swiss Cetacean Society – SCS soutient depuis 2010 le travail de l’association nationale Ulanga N’gazidja. En 2011, grâce à des financements externes, et sous la supervision du Dr Said Hassani, une équipe locale de 4 écogardes de N’droudé a pu être mise sur pied. Grâce à ces patrouilles de surveillance des tortues et  à la prévention menée face au braconnage, un timide retour de l’espèce a pu être observé sur les trois plages du village.

Les efforts soutenus de l’association villageoise de N’droudé et d’Ulanga N’gazidja avec l’appui de l’ONG suisse ont contribué à encourager l’engagement d’autres partenaires importants comme le PNUD. Avec l’appui de ce dernier, des projets de construction de la Maison du Tourisme et de 4 bungalows destinés à l’écotourisme ont été initiés.

En 2014, la zone de N’droudé a pu être annexée au projet de protections des aires marines protégés mené conjointement par l’Union des Comores, le GEF et le PNUD. Cette décision est très encourageante car elle vise la protection de l’environnement de la Grande Comore et de ses écosystèmes marins.

Faute de salaires pour les écogardes, la surveillance des plages ne serait plus garantie. Il est dès lors urgent de maintenir la motivation de ces écogardes en leur assurant un salaire leur permettant de se consacrer pleinement à la protection des tortues et avoir une vie décente pour sa famille.

Bien qu’un grand travail d’information et de sensibilisation ait déjà été fait par Ulanga N’gazidja auprès de la population locale (pêcheurs, villageois, autorités, enfants, médias) pour protéger les tortues, il reste encore un long chemin à parcourir pour faire prendre conscience de l’importance de préserver cette espèce vivante, et de son rôle dans l’écosystème marin.

CONCRÈTEMENT, CE QUI EST FAIT GRÂCE A VOS DONS

Mise en place de patrouille d’écogardes sur les plages de N’droudé pour dissuader toute tentative de braconnage.  Comme le salaire moyen est d'environ 60.- CHF, cela pousse les personnes de la communauté locale à travailler pour la protection des tortues vertes, de leurs nids et leurs progénitures.  Ces écogardes collectent également des données précieuses sur les tortues.                                          

​Pour un montant de 70.- CH :

Equivalent à un mois de salaire pour la patrouille hebdomadaire d'un écogarde.

Pour un montant de 350.- CH :

Equivalent à 6 mois de salaire pour la patrouille hebdomadaire d'un écogarde. 

Pour un montant de 700.- CH :

Equivalent à 1 an de salaire pour la patrouille hebdomadaire d'un écogarde.

Pour  un montant de 100.- CHF :

L'encadrement des travaux sur le terrain de quatre étudiants en masters afin d'établir un "point zéro" de l'écosystème de la nouvelle aire marine à protéger. ​​

Pour un montant de 5'000.- CHF : ​​

Parrainage d'un/e étudiant/e suisse en Master ou Doctorat. Comprenant son séjour sur place pour établir un "point zéro" de l'écosystème de nouvelle aire marine à protéger. ​

  • Assurer le retour à l'océan d'un maximum de petites tortues après l'éclosion.

  • Stabiliser la population de tortues vertes de l'océan Indien, gravement menacée par la pollution marine et le braconnage.

  • Recenser et surveiller les sites de ponte.

  • Sensibiliser les pêcheurs locaux à l'importance de protéger les tortues marines.

  • Garantir un mois de salaire et une vie décente à un écogarde et sa famille.

Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS

CP 1430 

1001 Lausanne 

Suisse

2020 edited by Sandra Pernet 

2019 updated  by  Pierre Butty

2016 created  by  Tanit Agency