Donation to complete the scientific material and to study marine mammals

With this donation, you participate in the purchase of scientific equipment (Manta net to collect the plastic microphone, drone to do photogrammetry and DNA sampling in whale blows, 600mm lens to better identify animals over long distances, computer-server on board to store the numerous data, purchase of 2 hydrophones and acoustic cables, installation of the thermal camera equipment, DNA kit).

 

Thank you for your support!

Donation to complete the scientific material and to study marine mammals

CHF100.00Price
  • GLACIALIS is an innovative scientific expedition with the ambition to better understand the Arctic and promote its conservation. It is indeed a unique and fragile ecosystem, one of the last of the wildest on our planet.

     

    Our desire is to improve the knowledge of Arctic species, in particular birds, marine mammals and plankton, and their habitats, by studying macro and micro plastics. We aim at producing open access data in collaboration with a maximum of actors, by developing innovative and reproducible scientific methods.

     

    The collected data will allow to :

    • evaluate the impacts of climate change and man on this ecosystem
    • raise awareness about the marine and Arctic environment, through the sharing of high-resolution images, a radio play and a documentary, in the perspective of creating a bridge between science and art.

     

    The departure of the Glacialis Expedition is scheduled for May 2021 from the Azores, aboard the sailing ship Atlas. Only 40% of the expedition, i.e. CHF 30,000, remains to be financed to allow us to set sail, and that is why your contribution is very precious to us.

     

    Thank you very much for your donation!

Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS

CP 1430 

1001 Lausanne 

Switzerland

2016 created  by  Tanit Agency

Don pour compléter le matériel scientifique et étudier les mammifères marins

Avec ce don, vous participez à l’achat de matériel scientifique (filet Manta pour récolter le micro plastique, drone pour faire de la photogrammétrie et du prélèvement d’ADN dans les souffles de baleines, objectif 600mm pour mieux identifier les animaux sur de longues distances, ordinateur-serveur à bord pour stocker les nombreuses données, achat de 2 hydrophones et de câbles acoustiques, mise en place du matériel de caméra thermique, kit ADN).

 

Merci pour votre soutien!

Don pour compléter le matériel scientifique et étudier les mammifères marins

100,00 CHFPrix
  • GLACIALIS est une expédition scientifique novatrice ayant l'ambition d'une meilleure connaissance de l'Arctique et de la promotion de sa conservation. Il s'agit en effet d'un écosystème unique et fragile, l'un des derniers des plus sauvages de notre planète.

    Notre volonté est d’améliorer la connaissance des espèces arctiques, en particulier des oiseaux, des mammifères marins et du plancton, et de leurs habitats, en étudiant les macro et micro plastiques. Nous visons la production de données libres d’accès en collaboration avec un maximum d'acteurs, en développant des méthodes scientifiques innovantes et reproductibles.

    Les données récoltées permettront :

    • d’évaluer les impacts du changement climatique et de l'homme sur cet écosystème
    • de sensibiliser au sujet du milieu marin et arctique, via le partage d'images hautes résolutions, d'une pièce radiophonique et d'un documentaire, dans la perspective de la création d'un pont entre science et art.

    Le départ de l’Expédition Glacialis est prévu pour Mai 2021 depuis les Açores, à bord du voilier Atlas. Seulement 40% de l'expédition soit CHF 30 000 reste à financer pour nous permettre de prendre le large, et c’est pourquoi votre contribution nous est très précieuse.

    Merci infiniment pour votre don !