MONK SEALS

S.O.S. for the last Mediterranean monk seals
SCS is committed to the conservation of the populations in Mauritania and Ionian Sea
Become an active player and help these beautiful creatures survive!
THE MEDITERRANEAN MONK SEAL

The Mediterranean monk seal (Monachus monachus), once abundant throughout the Mediterranean basin, in the Black Sea and along the northwest coast of Africa, has now become rare and endangered according to the 2015 classification of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

This marine mammal is part of the pinniped group, which also includes sea lions, elephant seals and walruses.

The monk seal belongs to the Phocidae family (clade Pinnipeds) and includes 18 existing species. The gender “Monachus” includes 3 species, one of which is extinct (Caribbean monk seal, Monachus tropicalis) and two endangered (Mediterranean monk seal, Monachus monachus and Hawaiian monk seal, Monachus schauinslandi).

The world population of Monachus monachus is estimated at about 700-800 individuals (350-450 adults), subdivided into 3-4 sub-populations. It is estimated that 300 to 400 individuals live in Greece, about 300 in Cabo Blanco (Mauritania), about 100 in Turkey, and 40 in the Madeira archipelago. An unknown number of seals may be present on the Mediterranean coasts of Morocco.

 

The decline in the Monachus monachus population is mainly due to deliberate killing by fishermen; seals come to eat fish in their nets and become competitors to be eliminated. They can also be entangled in the links of static nets venturing into them to feed themselves or to play or in fishing gears. Like other species, the monk seal is also a victim of overfishing, which depletes food resources, of pollution, but also of increasing human activity at its resting and breeding sites, forcing it to flee into caves with underwater entrances.

Mauritania population « Seals coast »

The Mediterranean monk seal (Monachus monachus), generally associated to the Mediterranean sea, also resides in the east part of the Atlantic ocean, namely in the "Seal Coast Reserve", which protects 6 km of coastline in the Cabo Blanco peninsula (Mauritania). It is currently estimated that this reserve hosts almost half of the global Monk seal population.

Actually, this population of the Cabo Blanco colony is fully growing. Since the creation of the "Seal Coast Reserve" in 2001, the number of individuals has increased from around 100 individuals estimated in 1998 to more than 360 seals! At the same time, the number of babies born each year has almost tripled from 20 to more than 80 births.

Ionian Sea population

Monk seals from the Ionian Sea, which recent studies have outlined as being part of a subpopulation genetically distinct from Aegean seals, might still exist in a quite precarious state and might still qualify as Critically Endangered. Information about its numbers, ecology and threats is scarcer than for Aegean seals, although pressure from fishing and tourist activities is quite high there. Approximately 20 individuals have been so far identified in the Eastern Ionian sea.

This partnership is part of the Mediterranean monk seal conservation program.

The CBD-Habitat non-profit foundation, dedicated to biodiversity conservation through various projects around the world, manages the "Monk Seal Conservation Program" in Mauritania. This is done within the framework of the Action Plan for the Conservation of the Mediterranean Monk Seal in the Eastern Atlantic (https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org).

Endorsed by Spain, Portugal, Morocco and Mauritania, this Action Plan establishes a framework for international cooperation for coordinated actions to recover Atlantic populations of monk seals and to ensure the continuity of this species, which is one of the most threatened marine mammals in the world.

The mission of the program is to protect and contribute to the recovery of the Mediterranean monk seal population in the Cabo Blanco peninsula of Mauritania and consequently worldwide.

CBD-Habitat is responsible for implementing this program with the Mauritanian NGO Annajah.

LOGO CBD 1.gif

This partnership is part of the project “Ionian Sea Marine Mammals”.

Since about 30 years, Tethys Research Institute is active in the internal Ionian Sea and the Gulf of Ambracia. Through the Ionian Dolphin Project, it aims to ensure the long-term viability of marine mammals living in coastal waters of the eastern Ionian Sea. These ones are: the Common bottlenose dolphin, the Short-beaked common dolphin and the Mediterranean monk seal.

logo Tethys since vert_transparent.png
LOGO IDP.png
Participate actively in the conservation of the Mediterranean monk seal population
​​
Symbolically adopt a seal
for a year for the amount
of 150 CHF (per year)
The “sponsor” receives an adoption certificate and news about his protégé, when this is possible.
Finance the purchase
of research equipment with an open donation
(amount to gather 2’000 CHF)
You will receive a letter with news on the campaign.
Support
an endangered population
with a 50 CHF donation
You will receive a project supporter certificate.
Your contribution will primarily serve
to protect, monitor and taking care
of the seals.

REFERENCES:

The pictures were granted by  Dr. Pablo Fernandez De Larrinoa (CBD-Habitat Foundation) and Dr. Joan Gonzalvo (Tethys Research Institute)

Karamanlidis, A. & Dendrinos, P. (2015). "Monachus monachus". IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. 2015: e.T13653A45227543. doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2015-4.RLTS.T13653A45227543.en

 

Mediterranean monk seal conservation program :  https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org/?page_id=128&lang=fr

 

Ionian Dolphin Project_Info (2020)

Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS

CP 1430 

1001 Lausanne 

Switzerland

2016 created  by  Tanit Agency

PHOQUE  MOINE

S.O.S. pour les derniers phoques moines de Méditerranée 
La SCS s’engage pour la conservation des populations de la Mauritanie et de la Mer Ionienne
Devenez acteurs et aidez à la survie de ces belles créatures!
LE PHOQUE MOINE DE MÉDITERRANÉE

Le Phoque moine de Méditerranée (Monachus monachus), autrefois abondant dans tout le bassin méditerranéen, en Mer Noire et le long des côtes nord-ouest de l’Afrique, est devenu aujourd’hui rare et en danger selon le classement de l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (IUCN) de 2015.  Ce mammifère marin fait partie du groupe des pinnipèdes, qui comprend également les lions de mer, les éléphants de mer ainsi que les morses.

Le phoque moine appartient à la famille des Phocidés  (super-famille Pinnipèdes) qui inclut encore 18 espèces existantes.  Le genre « Monachus » comprend 3 espèces, dont une espèce éteinte (Phoque des Caraïbes, Monachus tropicalis) et deux en danger d’extinction (Phoque moine de Méditerranée, Monachus monachus et Phoque moine hawaïen, Monachus schauinslandi).

La population mondiale de Monachus monachus est estimée à environ 700-800 individus (350-450 adultes) : celle-ci est sous-divisée en 3-4 sous-populations. Il est considéré que 300 à 400 individus vivent en Grèce, environ 300 au Cap Blanc, une centaine en Turquie, et 40 à l’archipel de Madère. Un nombre inconnu de phoques pourrait être présent aux côtes méditerranéennes de Maroc.

Le déclin de la population de Monachus monachus est principalement dû aux mises à mort délibérées par les pêcheurs ; les phoques viennent manger les poissons dans leurs filets et deviennent des concurrents à éliminer. Ils peuvent aussi s’étrangler dans les maillons des filets de bateaux de pêche ou statiques, en s’y aventurant pour se nourrir, ou pour jouer. Comme les autres espèces, le Phoque moine est également victime de la surpêche qui appauvrit les ressources alimentaires, de la pollution, mais également de l’activité humaine qui se déploie sur ses sites de repos et de reproduction, l’obligeant à fuir dans des grottes aux entrées sous-marines.

Population de la Mauritanie « Côte des Phoques »

Le phoque moine de Méditerranée (Monachus monachus), généralement associé à la mer Méditerranée, vit également dans la zone orientale de l’océan Atlantique et notamment dans la réserve « Côte des phoques », qui couvre environ 6 km sur la péninsule du Cap Blanc (Mauritanie). Il est aujourd’hui estimé que cette réserve abrite environ la moitié de la population mondiale.

La population de la colonie du Cap Blanc de Mauritanie est actuellement en pleine croissance: Depuis la création de la réserve « Côte des phoques », en 2001, le nombre d’individus a augmenté en passant d’une centaine d’individus estimés en 1998, à plus de 360 phoques! En parallèle, le nombre des bébés nés chaque année a presque triplé en passant d’une 20aine à plus de 80 naissances.

Population de la mer Ionienne

Le phoque moine de la mer Ionienne, que selon des études récentes ferait partie d’une population génétiquement distincte des phoques moines de la mer Egée, pourrait encore exister dans un état plutôt précaire et pourrait encore être qualifié «en danger critique d’extinction». Les informations sur le nombre d’individus, l’écologie et les menaces sont bien plus rares que pour la population de la mer Egée, même si la pression exercée par la pêche et les activités touristiques est très élevée dans la mer Ionnienne. Environ 20 individus ont été identifiés actuellement dans la zone de la mer Ionienne de l’Est.

Ce partenariat est dans le cadre du programme de conservation du phoque moine de la Méditerranée.

La Fondation sans but lucratif  CBD-Habitat, dédiée à la conservation de la biodiversité à travers différents projets dans le monde entier, gère le « Programme de conservation du phoque moine de la Méditerranée » en Mauritanie. Ceci est fait dans le cadre du Plan d’action pour la sauvegarde du phoque moine de Méditerranée en Atlantique oriental (https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org).

Souscrit par l’Espagne, le Portugal, le Maroc et la Mauritanie, ce Plan d’action établit un cadre de coopération internationale pour la réalisation d’actions coordonnées dans le but de récupérer les populations atlantiques de phoque moine et de garantir la continuité de cette espèce, qui est un des mammifères marins les plus menacés dans le monde.

La mission du programme est de protéger, et de contribuer à la récupération de la population de phoque moine de la Méditerranée au niveau de la péninsule du Cap Blanc, en Mauritanie, et par conséquent au niveau mondial.

 

CBD-Habitat est responsable de l’exécution de ce programme avec l’ONG mauritanienne Annajah.

LOGO CBD 1.gif

Ce partenariat est dans le cadre du programme « Mammifères Marins de la Mer Ionienne »

Depuis presque 30 ans, l’Institut de Recherche Tethys est actif dans la région de la mer Ionienne intérieure et du golfe Ambracique. Avec le projet Dauphin de la Mer Ionienne (Ionian Dolphin Project), il œuvre pour assurer la conservation à long terme des mammifères marins qui vivent dans les eaux côtières de la mer ionienne de l’Est. Ceux-ci comprennent en particulier : le Grand dauphin ; le Dauphin commun à bec court et le Phoque moine de Méditerranée.

logo Tethys since vert_transparent.png
LOGO IDP.png
Participez activement à la conservation des phoques moines de Méditerranée
Parrainez symboliquement un phoque durant un an pour
le montant de CHF 150 par an
Le parrain reçoit un certificat de parrainage et des nouvelles de son protégé, lorsque cela est possible.
Financez l’achat de matériel de recherche avec une participation libre
(montant à atteindre 2’000 CHF)
Vous recevrez une lettre avec des nouvelles de cette campagne.
Soutenez une population
en danger avec
un don de 50 CHF
Vous recevrez un certificat de
donateur du projet.
L’argent sert prioritairement
à la protection, à la surveillance
et aux soins des phoques. 

REFERENCES:

Les photos sont mises à disposition par Dr. Pablo Fernandez De Larrinoa (Fondation CBD-Habitat) et Dr. Joan Gonzalvo (Tethys Research Institute)

Karamanlidis, A. & Dendrinos, P. (2015). "Monachus monachus". IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. 2015: e.T13653A45227543. doi:10.2305/IUCN.UK.2015-4.RLTS.T13653A45227543.en

 

Programme de conservation du phoque moine de la Méditerranée :  https://www.mediterraneanmonkseal.org/?page_id=128&lang=fr

 

Ionian Dolphin Project_Info (2020)

Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS

CP 1430 

1001 Lausanne 

Suisse

2016 created  by  Tanit Agency