IONIAN SEA MARINE MAMMALS

The SCS supports the Tethys Research Institute
for the protection of the Ionian Sea marine mammals

The Greek Sea still harbours a very diversified marine fauna, including several marine mammals. At least 6 species of cetaceans are present throughout the year: The Striped dolphin (Stenella coeruleoalba), the Common bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus), the Short-beaked common dolphin (Delphinus delphis), the Cuvier's beaked whale (Ziphius cavirostris), the Sperm whale (Physeter macrocephalus) and the Risso's dolphin (Grampus griseus). In addition, sightings of Fin whales (Balaenoptera physalus) and Harbor porpoises (Phocoena phocoena) have been reported.

Unfortunately, such marine biodiversity is constantly decreasing due to degradation of the marine environment.

Since about 30 years, Tethys Research Institute is active in the internal Ionian Sea and the Gulf of Ambracia. With the Ionian Dolphin Project, it aims to ensure the long-term viability of marine mammals living in the coastal waters of the eastern Ionian Sea. These ones are: the Common bottlenose dolphin, the Short-beaked common dolphin and the Mediterranean monk seal.

 

In the context of the IDP, TETHYS organizes scientific expeditions in order to ensure the monitoring of the Ionian Sea marine mammal populations and collect data on factors threatening the local ecosystem. These data allow setting up efficient conservation measures and spreading relevant information to the public, local fishermen and authorities.

To actively participate in this project, register to an one-week field research in Greece,

directly on our partner site.

IONIAN SEA MARINE MAMMALS

Common bottlenose dolphin

Its population is negatively affected, because the Common bottlenose dolphin lives in the coastal areas, and is, therefore, more exposed to risks caused by human activities, such as incidental mortality in fishing gears, prey depletion due to overfishing, noise disturbance due to boat traffic, pollution and general deterioration of its natural habitat. While  the population of Bottlenose dolphins in the Ionian sea is actually estimated at around 120 individuals, the Mediterranean bottlenose dolphin is classified as « vulnerable » in the IUCN Red List.

Bottenose dolphin of the Gulf of Ambracia

The Gulf of Ambracia, located in the northwest of Greece, is almost completely enclosed and has only a narrow passage as an opening to the sea. It hosts the densest population of Bottlenose dolphins in the Mediterranean, which is not a proof of an optimal state of conservation, nor of an ideal habitat. On the contrary, the survival of the Bottlenose dolphin in the gulf is at risk because of the reproductive isolation, the limited population size (approximately 150 individuals), but also because of the negative impact of human activities, which are constantly increasing, in this semi-closed and shallow habitat.

Some other species have been observed in the Gulf area, such as loggerhead sea turtles (Caretta caretta) and a rich bird fauna including rare species. The Gulf's biodiversity, however, is threatened by high and increasing eutrophication and pollution.

Short-beaked common dolphin

Once one of the most abundant cetacean species in the Mediterranean Sea, Common dolphins have declined throughout the region since the 1960s. In 2003, their Mediterranean population was classified as Endangered in the IUCN Red List. Common dolphins in the Ionian Sea declined dramatically from approximately 150 to 15 animals between 1995 and 2007! Decline of Common dolphins has been linked to food resources exhaustion due to overfishing and fatal accidents due to collisions with boats.

Mediterranean monk seal

After having been considered critically Endangered for almost two decades, the status of Mediterranean monk seals, Monachus monachus, was downlisted in 2015 to Endangered in IUCN Red List, based on the observation that seal concentrations in specific locations had been stable in numbers, and even increasing.

Tethys Research Institute is an international non-profit research organization active in marine conservation, with an emphasis on large marine vertebrates. To achieve its aims, Tethys uses primarily scientific research and public consciousness awakening. The « Ionian Dolphin Project »  aims to ensure optimal conservation conditions for the Short-beaked common dolphin; establish protection measures for the Common bottlenose, and identify risks threatening the local population of Mediterranean monk seal.

logo Tethys since vert_transparent.png
Finance a day of field research
(150 CHF)
You will receive a supporter certificate with a map explaining the navigation transect followed during the day you funded and a description of the main sightings.
Support a population in danger with
an open donation (starting from 10 CHF)

You will receive a supporter certificate (for donations of minimum 50 CHF).

This money will primarily serve to protect and monitor
the Ionian Sea marine mammals in danger.

REFERENCES:

The pictures have been made available by:  © Dr. Joan Gonzalvo / Tethys Research Institute

The texts are based on: http://ioniandolphinproject.org/

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2015) Aquatic Conserv: Mar. Freshw. Ecosyst. 25: 91-106

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2016) Mediterranean Mar. Mammal Ecology and Conservation 1st edition :259-296.

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2011) Fisheries Management and Ecology 18: 25-38

  • Ionian Dolphin Project_Info (2020)

Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS

CP 1430 

1001 Lausanne 

Switzerland

2020 edited by Sandra Pernet 

2019 updated  by  Pierre Butty

2016 created  by  Tanit Agency

MAMMIFÈRES  MARINS
DE  MER  IONIENNE

La SCS s'engage auprès de l'Institut de Recherche Tethys
pour la protection des mammifères marins de mer Ionienne

La mer grecque abrite encore une faune marine spécifique très diversifiée et accueille plusieurs mammifères marins. Au moins 6 espèces de cétacés y sont présentes tout au long de l’année: Le Dauphin bleu et blanc (Stenella coeruleoalba), le Grand dauphin (Tursiops truncatus), le Dauphin commun à bec court (Delphinus delphis), la Baleine de Cuvier (Ziphius cavirostris), le Cachalot (Physeter macrocephalus) et le Dauphin de Risso (Grampus griseus). De plus, le Rorqual commun (Balaenoptera physalus) et le Marsouin  commun (Phocoena phocoena) y sont parfois aperçus.

Malheureusement, cette biodiversité marine est en déclin constant à cause de la dégradation continue de l’environnement marin.

Depuis presque 30 ans, l’Institut de Recherche Tethys est actif dans la région de la mer Ionienne intérieure et du golfe Ambracique, avec le projet Dauphin de la Mer Ionienne (Ionian Dolphin Project) dont l’objectif est d’assurer, à long terme, la conservation des mammifères marins qui vivent dans les eaux côtières de la mer ionienne de l’Est. Ceux-ci comprennent en particulier : le Grand dauphin, le Dauphin commun à bec court et le Phoque moine de Méditerranée.

 

Dans le cadre de l’IDP, TETHYS organise des expéditions scientifiques pour assurer le suivi des populations des mammifères de la mer Ionienne et collecter des données sur les facteurs d’impact de l’écosystème local. Ces données permettent ensuite la mise en place de mesures de conservation efficaces et la diffusion d'informations pertinentes au public, aux autorités et aux pêcheurs locaux.

Vous pouvez participer activement à ce projet en vous inscrivant à une semaine d'éco-volontariat en Grèce

directement sur le site de notre partenaire.

MAMMIFÈRES MARINS DE LA MER IONIENNE

Grand dauphin

Sa population est négativement affectée, parce que le Grand dauphin vit dans les zones côtières, et il est donc exposé plus souvent à des dangers générés par des activités anthropogéniques, tels que les accidents fatals causés par les bateaux de pêche, l’appauvrissement en ressources alimentaires provoqué par la surpêche, le dérangement dû au trafic maritime, la pollution et la détérioration de l’habitat naturel. Alors que la population du Grand dauphin dans la mer Ionienne est actuellement estimée à 120 individus environ, le Grand dauphin de Méditerranée est classifié « vulnérable » dans la Liste Rouge de l’IUCN.

Grand dauphin du golfe Ambracique

Le golfe Ambracique, situé au nord-ouest de la Grèce est presque entièrement clos et ne possède en guise d'ouverture vers la mer qu'un passage très étroit. Il accueille la population de Grands dauphins la plus dense de la Méditerranée, ce qui n‘est pas pourtant preuve d’un état de conservation optimale, ni d’un habitat idéal. Au contraire, la survie du Grand dauphin dans le golfe est en danger à cause de l’isolement reproductif, de la taille limitée de la population (environ 150 individus), mais également à cause des répercussions négatives des activités anthropogéniques, qui ne cessent d’augmenter, dans cet habitat semi-clos et peu profond.

D’autres espèces observées dans cette zone d’étude sont la tortue Caretta caretta et une grande variété d’oiseaux y compris de rares espèces.

Dauphin commun

Autrefois, très abondants dans la Méditerranée, les Dauphins communs ont été diminués dans toute la région depuis les années 1960. En 2003, leur population en Méditerranée a été classée « en danger » sur la Liste Rouge de l’IUCN. La population du dauphin commun de la mer Ionienne, a aussi subi un déclin dramatique, marqué d’une diminution de 150 individus à 15 entre 1995 et 2007 ! Les causes de ce déclin comprennent l’épuisement des ressources alimentaires à cause de la surpêche et la mortalité accidentelle provoquée par les bateaux.

Phoque moine de Méditerranée

Après avoir été considéré « en danger critique d’extinction » pendant environ deux décennies, le statut du phoque moine de Méditerranée a été déclassifié en 2015 « en danger » dans la Liste Rouge de l’IUCN, suite à des observations montrant que la concentration de l’espèce dans des régions spécifiques reste stable en nombre, voire elle augmente.

L'Institut de Recherche Tethys est une organisation de recherche internationale à but non lucratif, active dans la conservation marine avec un accent sur les grands vertébrés marins. Pour ce faire, elle utilise principalement la recherche scientifique et la mise en éveil de la conscience publique. Dans le cadre du « Projet du dauphin de la Mer Ionienne », Tethys a comme but d’assurer des conditions de conservation optimales pour le dauphin commun, d'établir des mesures pour la protection du grand dauphin, et d’adresser les risques menaçant le phoque moine résidant dans la région d’intérêt.

logo Tethys since vert_transparent.png
Participez activement à la conservation
des mammifères marins de la mer Ionienne
Financez une journée
de recherche en mer (150 CHF)
Vous recevrez un certificat de donateur avec une carte expliquant l’itinéraire suivi au cours de la journée financée et une description des observations principales.
Soutenez une population en danger
avec un don libre

Vous recevrez un certificat de donateur du projet

(à partir d'un don de 50 CHF).

L’argent récolté servira prioritairement à la protection et à la surveillance des mammifères marins de la mer Ionienne qui sont en péril.

REFERENCES:

Les images sont mises à disposition par: © Joan Gonzalvo / Tethys Research Institute

Les sources du texte sont: http://ioniandolphinproject.org/

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2015) Aquatic Conserv: Mar. Freshw. Ecosyst. 25: 91-106

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2016) Mediterranean Mar. Mammal Ecology and Conservation 1st edition :259-296.

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2011) Fisheries Management and Ecology 18: 25-38

  • Ionian Dolphin Project_Info (2020)

Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS

CP 1430 

1001 Lausanne 

Suisse

2016 created  by  Tanit Agency