TETHYS_IDP page.jpg

Ionian Dolphin Project

logo Tethys since vert_transparent.png
The SCS supports the Tethys Research Institute​
for the protection of the Ionian Sea marine mammals

The Greek Sea still harbours a very diversified marine fauna, including several marine mammals species. At least 6 species of cetaceans are present throughout the year: The Striped dolphin (Stenella coeruleoalba), the Common bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus), the Short-beaked common dolphin (Delphinus delphis), the Cuvier's beaked whale (Ziphius cavirostris), the Sperm whale (Physeter macrocephalus) and the Risso's dolphin (Grampus griseus). In addition, sightings of Fin whales (Balaenoptera physalus) and Harbor porpoises (Phocoena phocoena) have been reported.​

Unfortunately, such marine biodiversity is constantly decreasing due to degradation of the marine environment.

IONIAN SEA MARINE MAMMALS

Common bottlenose dolphin

Its population is negatively affected, because the Common bottlenose dolphin lives in the coastal areas, and is, therefore, more exposed to risks caused by human activities, such as incidental mortality in fishing gears, prey depletion due to overfishing, noise disturbance due to boat traffic, pollution and general deterioration of its natural habitat. While  the population of Bottlenose dolphins in the Ionian sea is actually estimated at around 120 individuals, the Mediterranean bottlenose dolphin is classified as « vulnerable » in the IUCN Red List.

Grand dauphin_Joan GOnzalvo_Tethys - cop

Bottenose dolphin of the Gulf of Ambracia

The Gulf of Ambracia, located in the northwest of Greece, is almost completely enclosed and has only a narrow passage as an opening to the sea. It hosts the densest population of Bottlenose dolphins in the Mediterranean, which is not a proof of an optimal state of conservation, nor of an ideal habitat. On the contrary, the survival of the Bottlenose dolphin in the gulf is at risk because of the reproductive isolation, the limited population size (approximately 150 individuals), but also because of the negative impact of human activities, which are constantly increasing, in this semi-closed and shallow habitat.

An application for recognition of the Ambracian Gulf Bottlenose dolphin population as Critically Endangered has been filed by the Tethys Research Institute with the IUCN Cetacean Specialist Group in 2020 (see also RESULTS- ACTIVITIES 2020, below).  

Tethys-Map.jpg

Short-beaked common dolphin

Once one of the most abundant cetacean species in the Mediterranean Sea, Common dolphins have declined throughout the region since the 1960s. In 2003, their Mediterranean population was classified as "Endangered" in the IUCN Red List. Common dolphins in the Ionian Sea declined dramatically from approximately 150 to 15 animals between 1995 and 2007! Decline of Common dolphins has been linked to food resources exhaustion due to overfishing and fatal accidents due to collisions with boats.

Dauphin Commun_Joan Gonzalvo Tethys - co

Mediterranean monk seal

Ionian Sea population

Monk seals from the Ionian Sea, which recent studies have outlined as being part of a subpopulation genetically distinct from Aegean seals, might still exist in a quite precarious state and might still qualify as "Critically Endangered". Information about its numbers, ecology and threats is scarcer than for Aegean seals, although pressure from fishing and tourist activities is quite high there. Approximately 20 individuals have been so far identified in the Eastern Ionian sea.

The IDP studies this sub-population of Monk Seals, which is considered particularly fragile because it is small, relatively isolated and not very well known.

Phoque Moine_Joan Gonzalvo_Tethys - copi

RESULTS - 2020 ACTIVITIES

  • The Ionian Dolphin Project is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year!

  • New region of interest added to the IDP in 2020: Paxi and Antipaxi Islands

  • 2020 in figures: 3 months of field research, which corresponds to : 1488 km covered in the Inner Ionian Sea and 1,020 km covered in the Ambracian Gulf

  • Revision of the Greek "National Action Plan" for Bottlenose dolphin and Harbor porpoises

  • Reassessment of the status of cetaceans regularly observed in the Mediterranean by the IUCN (in progress)

Capture d’écran 2021-06-01 à 07.29.07.pn

Tethys Research Institute is an international non-profit research organization active in marine conservation, with an emphasis on large marine vertebrates. To achieve its aims, Tethys uses primarily scientific research and public consciousness awakening.

 

« IONIAN DOLPHIN PROJECT »

 

Since about 30 years, Tethys Research Institute is active in the internal Ionian Sea and the Gulf of Ambracia. With the Ionian Dolphin Project (IDP), it aims to ensure the long-term viability of marine mammals living in the coastal waters of the eastern Ionian Sea. These ones are: the Common bottlenose dolphin, the Short-beaked common dolphin and the Mediterranean monk seal.

 

The IDP activities include:

 

  • Continuous monitoring of marine mammals using field research methods, including data collection and photo-identification, to characterize populations and identify critical habitats

  • Research on factors, such as overfishing, that threaten the local ecosystem

  • Public awareness, education and encouragement of initiatives (e.g. local dolphin events, public presentations, lectures to local schools, multimedia productions). You can consult a guide on how to behave in the presence of a cetacean here)

  • Communication and meetings with local authorities and fishermen's associations, to raise awareness of the need to take measures to protect dolphins and monk seals, and to reinforce existing regulations (e.g. prevention of illegal fishing)

  • Dissemination of information through scientific publications and submission of management proposals to international bodies and authorities concerned with marine biodiversity. 

 

 

Within the IDP framework, scientific expeditions are organized (see our tab: Ecovolunteer Expeditions)

Actively participate in the protection of these fragile subpopulations of the Mediterranean and support the IDP
The funds raised will be used for the protection and monitoring of marine mammals in the Ionian Sea that are at risk.

REFERENCES:

Les images sont mises à disposition par: © Joan Gonzalvo / Tethys Research Institute

Les sources du texte sont: http://ioniandolphinproject.org/

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2015) Aquatic Conserv: Mar. Freshw. Ecosyst. 25: 91-106

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2016) Mediterranean Mar. Mammal Ecology and Conservation 1st edition :259-296.

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2011) Fisheries Management and Ecology 18: 25-38

  • Ionian Dolphin Project_Info (2020)

TETHYS_IDP page.jpg

Dauphin Ionian Project 

La SCS s'engage auprès de l'Institut de Recherche Tethys
pour la protection des mammifères marins de mer Ionienne

logo Tethys since vert_transparent.png

La mer grecque abrite encore une faune marine spécifique très diversifiée et accueille plusieurs espèces de mammifères marins. Au moins 6 espèces de cétacés y sont présentes tout au long de l’année: Le Dauphin bleu et blanc (Stenella coeruleoalba), le Grand dauphin (Tursiops truncatus), le Dauphin commun à bec court (Delphinus delphis), la Baleine de Cuvier (Ziphius cavirostris), le Cachalot (Physeter macrocephalus) et le Dauphin de Risso (Grampus griseus). De plus, le Rorqual commun (Balaenoptera physalus) et le Marsouin  commun (Phocoena phocoena) y sont parfois aperçus.

Malheureusement, cette biodiversité marine est en déclin constant à cause de la dégradation continue de l’environnement marin.

MAMMIFÈRES MARINS DE LA MER IONIENNE

Grand dauphin

 Sa population est négativement affectée, parce que le Grand dauphin vit dans les zones côtières, et il est exposé fréquemment à des dangers générés par des activités anthropogéniques, tels que les accidents fatals causés par les bateaux de pêche, l’appauvrissement en ressources alimentaires provoqué par la surpêche, le dérangement dû au trafic maritime, la pollution et la détérioration de l’habitat naturel. Alors que la population du Grand dauphin dans la mer Ionienne est actuellement estimée à 120 individus environ, le Grand dauphin de Méditerranée est classifié «vulnérable» dans la Liste Rouge de l’IUCN

Grand dauphin du Golfe Ambracique

Le golfe Ambracique, situé au nord-ouest de la Grèce est presque entièrement clos et ne possède en guise d'ouverture vers la mer qu'un passage très étroit. Il accueille la population de Grands dauphins la plus dense de la Méditerranée, ce qui n‘est pas pourtant preuve d’un état de conservation optimale, ni d’un habitat idéal. Au contraire, la survie du Grand dauphin dans le golfe est en danger à cause de l’isolement reproductif, de la taille limitée de la population (environ 150 individus), mais également à cause des répercussions négatives des activités anthropogéniques, qui ne cessent d’augmenter, dans cet habitat semi-clos et peu profond. 

Une demande pour la reconnaissance de la population du Grand dauphin du golfe Ambracique en tant qu’espèce en danger critique d’extinction a été déposée auprès du Groupe des spécialistes des cétacés de l’UICN en 2020 par l’Institut de Recherche Tethys (voir aussi RESULTATS– ACTIVITES 2020, ci-dessous).  

Dauphin commun

Autrefois, très abondants dans la Méditerranée, les Dauphins communs ont été diminués dans toute la région depuis les années 1960. En 2003, leur population en Méditerranée a été classée «en danger» sur la Liste Rouge de l’IUCN. La population du dauphin commun de la mer Ionienne, a aussi subi un déclin dramatique, marqué d’une diminution de 150 individus à 15 entre 1995 et 2007 ! Les causes de ce déclin comprennent l’épuisement des ressources alimentaires à cause de la surpêche et la mortalité accidentelle provoquée par les bateaux.

Phoque moine de Méditerranée

Population de la mer Ionienne

Le Phoque moine de la mer Ionienne, que selon des études récentes ferait partie d’une population génétiquement distincte des Phoques moines de la mer Egée, vivrait dans un état plutôt précaire qui pourrait être qualifié «en danger critique d’extinction». Les informations sur le nombre d’individus, l’écologie et les menaces sont bien plus rares que pour la population de la mer Egée, même si la pression exercée dans la mer Ionnienne, par la pêche et les activités touristiques, est très élevée. Environ 20 individus ont été identifiés actuellement dans la zone de la mer Ionienne de l’Est. L’IDP étudie cette sous-population des Phoques moines, qui est considérée particulièrement fragile car petite, relativement isolée et mal connue. 

Grand dauphin_Joan GOnzalvo_Tethys - cop
Tethys-Map.jpg
Dauphin Commun_Joan Gonzalvo Tethys - co
Phoque Moine_Joan Gonzalvo_Tethys - copi

RESULTATS – ACTIVITES 2020

  • Le projet « Ionian Dolphin Project » fête cette année ses 30 ans d’activité !

  • Nouvelle région d’intérêt ajoutée à l’IDP en 2020 : Iles de Paxi et Antipaxi

  • 2020 en chiffres : 3 mois de recherche sur le terrain, ce qui correspond à : 1488 km parcourus en Mer ionienne intérieure et 1 020 km parcourus dans le golfe Ambracique

  • Révision du « Plan national d’Action » grec pour le Grand dauphin et le Marsouin commun 

  • Réévaluation de l’état des cétacés observés régulièrement en Méditerranée par l’UICN (en cours)

Capture d’écran 2021-06-01 à 07.29.07.pn

L'Institut de recherche Tethys est une organisation de recherche internationale à but non lucratif, active dans la conservation marine avec un accent sur les grands vertébrés marins. Pour ce faire, elle utilise principalement la recherche scientifique et la mise en éveil de la conscience publique. 

 

« IONIAN DOLPHIN PROJECT »

 

Depuis 30 ans, l’Institut de recherche Tethys est actif dans la région de la mer Ionienne intérieure et du golfe Ambracique, avec le projet Ionian Dolphin Project dont l’objectif est d’assurer, à long terme, la conservation des mammifères marins qui vivent dans les eaux côtières de la mer ionienne de l’Est. Ceux-ci comprennent en particulier : le Grand dauphin, le Dauphin commun à bec court et le Phoque moine de Méditerranée.

 

Les activités de l’IDP incluent :

 

  • Surveillance continue des mammifères marins à l’aide des méthodes de recherche sur le terrain, y compris récolte de données et photo-identification, afin de caractériser les populations et identifier les habitats critiques 

  • Recherche sur les facteurs, comme la surpêche, qui menacent l’écosystème local 

  • Sensibilisation du public, éducation et encouragement d’initiatives (ex. évènements locaux sur les dauphins, présentations publiques, conférences aux écoles locales, productions en multimédia). Vous pouvez consulter un guide de comportement à adopter en présence d’un cétacé ici

  • Communication et réunions avec les autorités locales et les associations de pêcheurs, pour les sensibiliser à la nécessité de prendre des mesures de protection des dauphins et des phoques moines, et de renforcer la règlementation déjà existante (ex. prévention de la pêche illégale)

  • Diffusion des informations à travers des publications scientifiques et soumission de propositions de gestion aux organismes internationaux et aux autorités concernés par la biodiversité marine. 

Dans le cadre de l’IDP, des expéditions scientifiques sont organisées (voir notre onglet Expéditions Ecovolontariat)

Participez activement à la protection de ces sous-populations fragiles de la Méditerranée et soutenez l’IDP

La somme récoltée servira à la protection et à la surveillancedes mammifères marins de la mer Ionienne qui sont en péril.

REFERENCES:

Les images sont mises à disposition par: © Joan Gonzalvo / Tethys Research Institute

Les sources du texte sont: http://ioniandolphinproject.org/

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2015) Aquatic Conserv: Mar. Freshw. Ecosyst. 25: 91-106

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2016) Mediterranean Mar. Mammal Ecology and Conservation 1st edition :259-296.

  • Gonzalvo et al. (2011) Fisheries Management and Ecology 18: 25-38

  • Ionian Dolphin Project_Info (2020)