Cachalot Granzotto-min-2.jpg

THE TEAM

MaxO 2021.jpg
Max-Olivier Bourcoud
SCS founder & president

Passionate about marine biology and ocean conservation, Max-Olivier Bourcoud is the founder and current president of the Swiss Cetacean Society - SCS.

 

For over ten years, he was a Whaling Protection Consultant for Prince Sadruddin Aga Khan at the Animal Welfare Department of the Bellerive Foundation in Geneva.

 

In addition to his active commitment to ecology in Switzerland, he regularly participates in numerous environmental missions, whether marine or terrestrial, on different islands of the Hawaiian archipelago, Florida, France and England.

 

Max-Olivier Bourcoud is also responsible for the environment and sustainable development aspect of international equine events organized by Equissima in Lausanne.

In the field of education, Max-Olivier Bourcoud is a post-compulsory specialist teacher, which brings him to teach ecology and sustainable development in a vocational school. He is also a didactician in Education with regards to the environment and sustainable development, as well as a pedagogical accompanist for teachers in training in French-speaking Switzerland.

03-DeTittaAlexandre-web.jpg

Dr. Alexandre de Titta

Vice-President
Scientific specialist
SCS Guide

PhD in Biotechnologies, Alexandre is passionate about photography, ornithology and marine life. He is active in several ornithology associations in Switzerland, collaborator and bander for the Swiss Ornithological Station. He participated in several expeditions of cetacean censuses in the Mediterranean before becoming a SCS guide, then coordinator of the guides.

03-VincenzettiChristine-web.jpg

Dr. Christine Vincenzetti

Head of fundraising and consultant in development

PhD in Neuroimmunology,  Christine has been involved in the protection of marine mammals for over 20 years. Christine specialised in marine mammal bioacoustics as part of her diploma work, which was the first of its kind at the University of Neuchatel. She has studied many species of marine mammals in the Pacific, Indian and Atlantic oceans and in the Mediterranean. With a PhD in neuroscience and a career of near 15 years in the private industry, Christine provides strategic advice for the development of the SCS.

03-Kypriotou Lida - web 2.jpg

Dr. Lida Kypriotou

« Ionian Dolphin Project » and « Mediterranean monk seals » project coordinator

PhD in molecular biology, Lida is passionate about marine environment, photography and travel. For the past ten years, she has devoted a great deal of her free time volunteering for the welfare of children and animals. She is currently the SCS Coordinator of the «Ionian Dolphin Project» and «Mediterranean monk seals» projects, in collaboration with the Tethys Research Institute and the CBD-Habitat non-profit foundation.

03-GalbiatiLaura-web.jpg

Laura Galbiati

Green turtle project coordinator
SCS guide

For many years, Laura has been passionate about nature and particularly the marine environment which led her to study biology at the University of Lausanne. She coordinates the project for the protection of green turtles in the Comoros Islands.

Photo%20Isabelle%20Q%20copie_edited.jpg

Isabelle Quinche

Administrator

With a bachelor's degree in Business Economics and as former athlete in synchronized swimming, Isabelle feels at home underwater, or even better. This is why it is important to her to preserve the wonderful underwater world and its inhabitants. Isabelle assists the SCS on an administrative level.

Photo Mela 2 copie.jpg

Mélanie Jotterand

Website coordinator

Active for 10 years in marketing and with a degree in tourism management, Mélanie has a particular interest for travel, nature and diving. Fascinated by the marine environment, she wants to contribute to the protection of endangered species by sharing her digital knowledge for the benefit of the SCS, she is therefore responsible for the SCS website. 

03-BarrasPierre-André.png

Pierre-André Barras

Accountant

As an accountant of the SCS, Pierre-André oversees the registration processes and accounting operations relative to SCS’s offshore programs.

Photo%2520Charlotte_edited_edited.jpg

Charlotte Bellot

Executive director, education & awareness coordinator

Graduated in Biology since 2018 with a specialization in marine biology, Charlotte participated in a research project on humpback whales in the Atlantic Ocean which aimed to estimate the physical condition of individuals using aerial images collected via drone. Passionate about scientific communication, biodiversity and the preservation of natural heritage, she has been working on a regular basis since 2017 with the SCS, in particular for  cetology courses, scientific expertise, interviews, helping to run the SCS stands at events, as well as fundraising & scientific data collection for the India project. He is also SCS guide and is currently working on a possible future long-term collaboration between the Comoros Green Turtle Project and the University of Neuchatel. 

presenter2.jpg

Ivan Martin

«Indian Coasts Conservation» project coordinator, communication officer
SCS guide

With a Master degree in tourism and animals rights, Ivan has specialized in marine wildlife tourism through several expeditions and courses including South Africa, India and the Mediterranean Sea. As a strong animal advocate, he is interested in ways to reconcile species conservation and ecotourism.  He joined the SCS in 2016, where he acts as SCS guide, on social media and in communication. He also coordinate the «Indian Coasts Conservation» project in collaboration with Terra Conscious. Since 2020, Ivan is responsible for the collaboration between the SCS and the World Cetacean Alliance (WCA), as  WCA regional representative for Europe.

03-BillMelissa-web1.jpg

Melissa Bill

Vaquita project coordinator, volunteer coordinator
SCS guide

With a Master degree in Environmental Science and Engineering from EPFL, Melissa has always been fascinated by dolphins and wanted to contribute to the conservation of biodiversity. She aspires to create harmonious encounters between humans and marine mammals. As a SCS guide, she is currently in charge of the volunteers and coordinates the "Vaquita" activities.

Photo%20Nicole_edited.png

Nicole Demarta

«Mangroves» project coordinator

Specialized in sustainability, and fascinated by the different ways of interacting with the world, Nicole became interested in ethology, animal behavior, languages and cultures at an early age. Her passion for nature and its beauty, her search for a life of harmony between man and his environment and a career in the field of energy make her understand the importance of a sustainable world. Sensitive to biodiversity and habitat preservation, Nicole is the coordinator of the Mangroves project.

Photo%20Oriane_edited.jpg

Oriane Rütsche

Social Media coordinator

With a bachelor at the Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne and student in strategy at the University of Lund in Sweden, Oriane is responsible for the social media at the SCS. Her professional background and her various training courses allow her to combine her digital marketing skills with a subject that is particularly close to her heart: the preservation of the environment and marine animals.

Photo%20Imen_edited.jpg

Imen Amraoui

Newsletter Coordinator

Graduated in Communication from MarKom, Imen contributes to the SCS in particular through the newsletter and communication with the eco-volunteers and SCS-members.

Our captains

Gras Christian SCS
Christian Gras
Capitain 
Owner of the Ichthus
 

Experienced high sea navigator, Christian is Professor of Plastic Art, Painter and Sculptor.

Troncy Gilbert SCS
Gilbert Troncy
Capitain
Owner of the Pat

Experienced high sea navigator, Gilbert used to live on his boat for many years. He is a teacher in a vocational technical school.

03-MartinGilles.jpg
Gilles Martin
Captain
Owner of the Merrespect

Professor of Physics-Chemistry and confirmed sailor, Gilles is the owner of Merrespect, transoceanic catamaran Lagoon 47 of 14m10. He puts his skills and spare time at the disposal of marine mammals through SCS. His thirty years of experience allow him to share his passion with the greatest number of the other members of the SCS in the respect of the ecology and the marine environment.

Cachalot Granzotto-min-2.jpg

L'EQUIPE

MaxO 2021.jpg
Max-Olivier Bourcoud
Fondateur et Président
Passionné de biologie marine et de conservation des océans depuis toujours, Max-Olivier Bourcoud est le fondateur et l'actuel président de la Swiss Cetacean Society-SCS.
 
Il a été pendant plus de dix ans consultant en protection baleinière pour le prince Sadruddin Aga Khan, au département Animal Welfare de la Fondation Bellerive à Genève.
 
Parallèlement à son engagement actif pour l'écologie en Suisse, il participe régulièrement à de nombreuses missions environnementales, marines ou terrestres, sur différentes îles de l'archipel d’Hawaii, en Floride, en France et en Angleterre.
 
Max-Olivier Bourcoud est également responsable de l'aspect Environnement et développement durable (EcoGestion) des manifestations hippiques internationales organisées par equissima® Lausanne.
 
Dans le domaine de l'éducation, Max-Olivier Bourcoud est maître d’enseignement spécialisé post-obligatoire, ce qui l'amène à enseigner notamment l’écologie et le développement durable en école professionnelle. Il est aussi didacticien en Éducation à l’environnement et au développement durable, ainsi qu’accompagnant pédagogique pour les enseignants en formation de Suisse romande.
03-DeTittaAlexandre-web.jpg

Dr. Alexandre de Titta

Vice-président,
Spécialiste scientifique

Guide SCS

Docteur en biotechnologies, Alexandre est passionné de photo, d'ornithologie et de faune marine. Il est actif dans plusieurs associations d'ornithologie en Suisse, collaborateur et bagueur pour la Station Ornithologique Suisse. Il a participé à plusieurs expéditions de recensements de cétacés en Méditerranée avant de devenir guide SCS, puis coordinateur des guides.

03-VincenzettiChristine-web.jpg

Dr. Christine Vincenzetti

Responsable levée de fonds et consultante en développement

Docteur en Neuroimmunologie, Christine s’engage depuis plus de 20 ans pour la protection des mammifères marins. Christine s’est spécialisée en bioacoustique des mammifères marins dans le cadre de son travail de diplôme qui a été le premier du genre à l’Université de Neuchâtel. Elle a étudié de nombreuses espèces de mammifères marins dans le Pacifique, Océan Indien, Atlantique et en Méditerranée. Riche d’un doctorat dans les neurosciences et d’une carrière de près de 15 ans dans l’industrie privée, Christine apporte son conseil stratégique au bénéfice du développement de la SCS.

03-Kypriotou Lida - web 2.jpg

Dr. Lida Kypriotou

Coordinatrice des activités «Ionian Dolphin Project» et
«Phoque moine de Méditerranée» 

Docteur en Biologie Moléculaire, Lida est passionnée par le monde marin, la photographie animalière et les voyages. Depuis une dizaine d’années, elle consacre une grande partie de son temps libre au bénévolat pour le bien-être des enfants et des animaux. Elle est actuellement Coordinatrice SCS des activités liées au «Ionian Dolphin Project» et «Phoque moine de Méditerrannée», en collaboration avec l’Institut de Recherche Tethys et la Fondation CBD-Habitat. 

03-GalbiatiLaura-web.jpg

Laura Galbiati

Coordinatrice des activités «Tortue verte»  
Guide SCS

Depuis de nombreuses années, Laura est passionnée de nature et affectionne particulièrement le monde marin, ce qui l’a amené à effectuer des études en biologie à l’Université de Lausanne.  Elle est également coordinatrice pour les activités liées à la protection des tortues vertes dans les îles Comores. 

Photo%20Isabelle%20Q%20copie_edited.jpg

Isabelle Quinche

Administratrice

Titulaire d'un bachelor en économie d'entreprise et ancienne athlète de haut niveau  en natation synchronisée, Isabelle se sent sous l'eau comme à la maison, voire encore mieux. C'est pourquoi il lui tient à cœur de préserver le merveilleux monde sous-marin et ses habitants. Isabelle apporte son aide administrative à la SCS.

Photo Mela 2 copie.jpg

Mélanie Jotterand

Responsable site internet 

Active depuis 10 ans dans le domaine du marketing et titulaire d'un diplôme de gestionnaire en tourisme, Mélanie affectionne particulièrement les voyages, la nature et la plongée. Emerveillée par le monde marin, elle désire contribuer à la protection des espèces menacées en mettant ses connaissances digitales au profit de la SCS et est ainsi responsable du site internet. 

03-BarrasPierre-André.png

Pierre-André Barras

Comptable

En tant que comptable de la SCS, Pierre-André supervise les processus d'inscriptions et les opérations comptables liées aux programmes en mer de la SCS. 

Photo%2520Charlotte_edited_edited.jpg

Charlotte Bellot

Directrice exécutive
Coordinatrice Éducation et sensibilisation
Guide SCS

Diplômée de Biologie depuis 2018 avec spécialisation en biologie marine, Charlotte a étudié les Baleines à bosse de l’Océan Atlantique afin d’estimer la condition physique des individus grâce à la collecte de données morphométriques à l’aide d’un drone.

Passionnée par la transmission scientifique, la biodiversité et la préservation du patrimoine naturel, elle travaille sur une base régulière depuis 2017 avec la SCS notamment pour les cours de cétologie, expertise scientifique, interview, aide à la tenue des stands SCS lors d’évènements, aide à la collecte de fonds & de données scientifiques pour le projet Inde. Elle est également guide pour la SCS, et travaille actuellement à une possible future collaboration long terme entre le projet Tortue verte des Comores et l’université de Neuchâtel. 

presenter2.jpg

Ivan Martin

Coordinateur du projet Conservation des Côtes Indiennes Agent de communication
Guide SCS

Titulaire d'un master en études du tourisme et d'un autre en droits des animaux, Ivan s'est spécialisé dans le tourisme de faune marine en effectuant plusieurs expéditions et stages notamment en Afrique du Sud, Inde et Méditerranée.  Étant un grand défenseur de la cause animale, il s'intéresse aux manières de concilier conservation des espèces et éco-tourisme. Il a rejoint le SCS en 2016 et est depuis devenu guide, est actif sur les médias sociaux et la communication, et coordonne les activités liées aux «côtes indiennes» en collaboration avec Terra Conscious. Depuis 2020, Ivan coordonne la collaboration entre la SCS et la World Cetacean Alliance (WCA), en représentant la SCS en tant que coordinateur régional de la WCA pour l'Europe. 

03-BillMelissa-web1.jpg

Melissa Bill

 Responsable des bénévoles

Coordinatrice des activités "Vaquita"

Guide SCS

Titulaire d'un Master en Sciences et Ingénierie de l'Environnement de l'EPFL, Melissa a toujours été fascinée par les dauphins et voulu contribuer à la protection des animaux. Elle aspire à créer des expériences de rencontre harmonieuses entre les humains et les mammifères marins. Guide SCS, elle est actuellement responsable des bénévoles et coordonne les activités «Vaquita».

Photo%20Nicole_edited.png

Nicole Demarta

Coordinatrice des activités «Mangroves» 

Spécialiste en durabilité, et fascinée par les différentes manières d’interagir avec le monde, Nicole s’intéresse très tôt à l’éthologie, au comportement animal, aux langues et aux cultures. Sa passion de la nature et de sa beauté, sa recherche d’une vie d’harmonie entre l’homme et son environnement et un parcours professionnel dans le domaine de l’énergie lui font comprendre l’importance d’un monde durable. Sensible à la biodiversité et à la préservation des habitats, Nicole est coordinatrice des activités « Mangroves».

Photo%20Oriane_edited.jpg

Oriane Rütsche

Responsable réseaux sociaux

Diplômée d’un bachelor en gestion hôtelière de l’Ecole hôtelière de Lausanne et étudiante en master de stratégie à l’Université de Lund en Suède, Oriane est responsable des réseaux sociaux de la SCS. Son parcours professionnel ainsi que ses différentes formations lui permettent d’associer ses compétences en marketing digital à un sujet qui lui tient particulièrement à cœur: la préservation de l’environnement et des animaux marins. 

Photo%20Imen_edited.jpg

Imen Amraoui

Responsable newsletter

Diplômée en Communication MarKom, Imen contribue à la SCS notamment via la newsletter et la communication avec les écovolontaires et les membres de la SCS.

Nos capitaines

Gras Christian SCS
Christian Gras
Capitaine 
Propriétaire d'Ichthus
 

Navigateur de haute mer expérimenté, Christian est Professeur d’Art Plastique, Artiste Peintre et Sculpteur.

Troncy Gilbert SCS
Gilbert Troncy
Capitaine
Propriétaire du Pat

Navigateur de haute mer expérimenté, Gilbert a vécu sur son bateau de nombreuses années. Il est enseignant dans un lycée technique professionnel. 

03-MartinGilles.jpg
Gilles Martin
Capitaine
Propriétaire du Merrespect

Professeur de Physique-Chimie et marin confirmé, Gilles est propriétaire du Merrespect, catamaran transocéanique Lagoon 47 de 14m10. Il met ses compétences et son temps libre à la disposition des mammifères marins par l'intermédiaire de la SCS. Ses trente ans d'expérience lui ont permis de partager sa passion avec le plus grand nombre d'entre nous dans le respect de l'écologie et du monde marin.